Welcome!

Welcome to the Volunteer Maryland blog!  As Volunteer Maryland’s director, I consider myself pretty lucky.  How many people can say that they get to interact with smart, passionate, and fun people every day?  I have that privilege.  Our AmeriCorps members and staff choose to work for positive change for our earth and our communities and face their challenges and successes with an eye on a bigger picture and a better world.  Several times every day I hear stories – stories of personal growth and community progress, stories that make me want to help or cry or laugh for hours, and stories that make me so glad to be involved in the Volunteer Maryland community.  Like Volunteer Maryland’s AmeriCorps members, I have had my highest highs and my lowest lows working with AmeriCorps in an effort to make our world a better place.  Service isn’t always a nice thing, but it sure is a necessary thing.

Our bloggers – Laura Aceituno, Lauren Mulcahy, Michael Nealis, Kimberly Rice, and Katelyn Ryan – have chosen to do the necessary thing.  Lucky for me, they do it with an incredible sense of fun.  They, and all of our AmeriCorps members, inspire me.  In this blog, you’ll get a piece of that inspiration as you follow their experiences through their service year.  I can’t tell you how it will end, but I think it will be a fun ride.

So, thanks for checking out our blog.  I hope you’ll enjoy hearing about the experiences of Laura, Lauren, Michael, Kimberly, and Katelyn as much as I do.  And if you want to learn more or are interested in becoming part of the Volunteer Maryland community, let us know.  We all look forward to hearing from you.

Enjoy!

Maureen K. Eccleston
Director, Volunteer Maryland

2 thoughts on “Welcome!

  1. Pingback: A Little Something New « Volunteer Maryland

  2. Pingback: A Little Something New – Volunteer Maryland

Leave a Reply

