Girls on the Run

I’m not going to lie. I really love doing direct service. For me, there is just something special and immediately rewarding about doing hands on volunteer work. Consequently, this year I have chosen to fulfill my direct service requirement for Volunteer Maryland by volunteering for multiple organizations. Over the past five months, I have volunteered with two different organizations; Advocates for Survivors of Torture and Trauma  and Project Linus.

I am hoping to expand my direct service horizons by volunteering with Girls on the Run (GOTR), this spring. I first heard of this organization through one of my VMCs, Amanda Lewis. GOTR is a non-profit organization that works to instill core values in pre-teen girls by promoting physical, emotional, mental and social well- being through running. I have applied for a coaching position with the Howard County Chapter of GOTR. I would love to serve as a positive role model for these girls and to share my love of running with them. I think it’s important for them to understand the value of health and to provide them with the opportunity to challenge themselves and to help them reach their full potential. Today, young girls are faced with a lot of societal pressures and I think Girls on the Run is a great program that helps guide young ladies in the right direction.

GOTR coaching is a weekly commitment. If accepted, I would run and organize two after school practices a week and the program would conclude with the Girls on the Run 5K run in May. I would be delighted to take on this responsibility and share my love of running with the girls. The best thing about running is that you don’t have to have a natural talent. All you need is dedication and perseverance. These values will not only get you far in the sport but in life as well.

To learn more about Girls on the Run, I encourage you to check out their website 🙂

4 thoughts on “Girls on the Run

    1. katelynmryan

      That sounds awesome, Sooyoung! Please let me know if you need help getting in contact with the Howard County chapter. I’m sure they would be happy to have more volunteers!

  1. Michelle Faulkner

    I’m interested in becoming a SoleMate as well as volunteering with the Howard County chapter of GOTR possibly on a committee. I used to help third grade Hispanic children learn English by reading with them during their class periods and I loved it! I haven’t really gotten too involved here in Howard County just because I am new to town from Texas so I don’t know many people. Is there a possibility of being an assistant coach or something? I don’t know if I could man a head coach position just yet, but possibly an assistant… do they offer anything like that?

    1. katelynmryan

      Hi Michelle,

      Thank you so much for commenting! Girls on the Run is a great program and I think you’d really find any of their volunteer positions to be rewarding! I would encourage you to contact either Dianne or Lisa for more information on volunteer opportunities. I know they would be pleased to hear from you. Their email is info@hocogirlsontherun.org. Good luck!

      Katelyn

Leave a Reply

