What Will You Fight For?

This past Saturday I participated in the National Half-Marathon Relay in Washington D.C. Anyone who knows me, knows how much I love and enjoy running. However, it wasn’t until recently that I have started channeling my passion for the greater good. I joined The Ulman Cancer Fund for Young Adults’ (UCF) “TEAM FIGHT” by raising money for the organization and running on a relay team. All money raised for Team Fight is used to support the organization’s many support, volunteer and educational programs.

My decision to run was a personal one and I truly believe in the work that the UCF does.  It was also an opportunity to support one of my VMCs sites.  Due to the fact that the UCF is one of the sites I work with through VM, I hear first hand of all the great things the UCF is doing to help and support young adults and families affected by cancer.

This was an incredible, new experience for me, as I usually run road races by myself. It was really exciting and thrilling being on a team and how each of us contributed our part to reaching the end goal: raising $700 for the organization and finishing the race!

For those of you who are runners, you know how good it feels when you cross that finish line. Well allow me to assure you that that feeling of accomplishment and celebration is only amplified when you run for a cause. This feeling is described on their Team Fight web page, “TEAM FIGHT is a great way to give back to the community while having a great time working out and meeting new people. There is no greater feeling than working hard to accomplish your goals and have a part in winning the FIGHT against cancer!”

Whatever cause is near and dear to you, consider teaming up with a non-profit organization that supports your cause. There are many organizations that have training programs in place to help non-athletes prepare for their race, walk, run, bike etc. It not only feels great to accomplish a physical goal but to know that you have made a positive difference in someone’s life as a result of your efforts.


2 thoughts on “What Will You Fight For?

Leave a Reply

