When the going gets tough…

… the smart take a vacation 😛
Working in the nonprofit sector, it can be very easy to get consumed by our work.  I am passionate about what I do and the causes I help to promote through Volunteer Maryland, and I know that everyone on our staff feels the same way.  AmeriCorps VISTA members are technically on duty 24 hours a day, seven days a week, and I’m sure the AmeriCorps State Volunteer Maryland Coordinators sometimes feel like they are!
The line doesn’t end there though- as an AmeriCorps member I moved to a new city to conduct my year of service, and many of the friends I made were also AmeriCorps members, or coworkers from the nonprofit sector, with many of the same trials and tribulations that I dealt with day in and day out.  And for the members who have been established in their communities, fitting a year of service on top of all your existing family, community and personal obligations can take it’s toll.
Even when you really enjoy what you do it can get to a point where it all piles up so high,  you can’t see the beginning or the end.  That’s when it’s time to take a step back, and do something totally unrelated to your work.  This past week was one of those weeks, and I decided to take a trip to see my family in Connecticut.  It was absolutely the best thing I could have done.  I got to rest, eat tons of food with my extended family on Easter, and laugh till I nearly cried with my hilarious siblings.  And now that my vacation is nearly over, I’ve recharged my passion batteries and am ready to dive into work with gusto.
You have vacation days– use them!  Do something for yourself, even if you don’t think you can possibly fit it into your busy schedule.  You don’t have to go far… there are lots of things right here in Maryland.  Your work, and you, will be glad you did 🙂
2 thoughts on “When the going gets tough…

Leave a Reply

