I Have A Secret…

I’ve started doing something that I’m willing to bet not a lot of people in the nonprofit world do.  Something that I’m not sure I should admit to.  It felt a little wrong when I started doing it; I’d switch my computer to another window whenever someone would walk by my desk.  I didn’t want to get caught.  After a while, I became more comfortable with doing it at work, but was still a bit wary about sharing.  Eventually, I admitted to my coworkers what I’ve been doing.

I’ve been reading the Harvard Business Review.

It’s a really great resource for people in the nonprofit world; it’s full of great ideas.  There’s nothing wrong with a nonprofit looking to the business world for ideas about how to be more successful.  I know that I’ve gotten some great ideas about how to be better at my job from what I’ve read in it.  Here’s some of the writers whose articles I make sure to read:

Umair Haque: His Awesomeness Manifesto is what turned me on to the Harvard Business Review.  It is, in a word, awesome.  His articles always have something in them that I can use to make myself better at what I do.

Dan Pollotta: Dan writes on change and ideas in the nonprofit sector (see, it’s not all just business.)  His article See Things as They Are-Then Change Them was the first article of his that I’d read, but that didn’t stop me from going through a lot of what he has written.  Let’s Call It the Humanity Sector is a great read for anyone who works in a nonprofit and has ever been asked, “So, what do you do?”

Just last week, we had a training with our Volunteer Maryland Coordinators.  In the first half, we talked about characteristics of generational volunteers.  The very next day, an article about how people view Millennial workers shows up in the Harvard Business Review.  Timely, no?

Even if you don’t read the articles, I want you to take some time to look at what people outside of your job are doing in order to be better at what they do.  You might learn a thing or two that makes you better at what you do.  We all want that, don’t we?  Don’t worry, I won’t tell.  Your secret’s safe with me.

Leave a Reply

