If a picture is worth 1,000 words, what is a video worth?

Yesterday morning, a whole group of Volunteer Maryland AmeriCorps members and I went to volunteer at Kayam Farm‘s EcoRide.  Kayam is an organic farm at Pearlstone Conference and Retreat Center, whose mission is to, “embody and inspire social and ecological responsibility by transforming the community through hands-on Jewish agricultural education.”  They are also a Volunteer Maryland partner organization, with Tiferet Sassona serving as their Volunteer Maryland Coordinator.  She did a phenomenal job yesterday- the group of us arrived bright and early at 7:45 on a Sunday for our instructions, and she had everything right there for us to grab and go to our rest stop.  She had even printed out nametags for us with all of the emergency contact numbers, the address of our rest stop, and other pertinent information so we would have it right on hand, a simple yet brilliant move! Our volunteer efforts were much appreciated by the cyclists and by Tiferet, and we all had a blast 🙂 

 

I have spoken before in blogposts about how important it is for me to get out and do direct service.  This has been especially helpful for me in keeping my motivation and perspective during this past year, where my responsibilities fall mainly inside the office, developing training and supporting the rest of the VM team.   Knowing this about myself, I worked with our director, Maureen, to come up with a project that helped me to connect with the members, but also benefited Volunteer Maryland in some way.  And thus the Volunteer Maryland video project was born. 

I have had to learn pretty much everything about making videos in order to do this project, but, as I have already mentioned, it has been great fun, sometimes frusterating, and very educational:)  One of the first partner organizations I filmed at was Kayam Farm, so here, finally, is the product of my months of learning 😛  Enjoy!

 

There will be more to come, and if you are one of our AmeriCorps members and want me to come out and film, just let me know, and we can discuss:)

One thought on “If a picture is worth 1,000 words, what is a video worth?

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention If a picture is worth 1,000 words, what is a video worth? « Volunteer Maryland -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

