Free Summer Fun!

I’ve really enjoyed having a host site this year. Initially, I thought it would  serve as a disadvantage being away from Volunteer Maryland’s office and all of my co-workers but honestly I am really grateful for the experience. Not only have I learned how a volunteer center operates and had a chance to assist with projects but I’ve had the opportunity to meet some wonderful people. Additionally, there have been a lot of perks that come with having a host site . One of the perks is that I have become familiar with the Columbia Association.

The Volunteer Center Serving Howard County is housed inside the Columbia Association building and our office is located more specifically in the Community Services department. Camps, after-school programs, teen clubs and activities, and community events all fall under this jurisdiction.

Working in this office is how I initially learned about the Lakefront Lunchtime Concert Series. Every Wednesday during the summer from 12:00-2:00 PM, anyone is welcome to come enjoy free live musical entertainment. Guests are allowed to bring their own chairs, coolers, or blankets and make an afternoon of it! I personally have the benefit of just walking out my office door and turning left and I have perfect lawn seating and a spectacular view of the show and Lake Kittamaqundi.

For the majority of my service year I haven’t really taken lunch breaks with the exception of stressful days during which time I  walk over to the mall ( arguably another perk 🙂 ).Usually though,  I will eat when I’m on the road or I’ll bunker down at my desk and eat while I work. Sometimes when I’m in the middle of something I’d just rather work straight through than stop in the middle and take a break. With that being said, sometimes I really do just need to walk away from my work and get some fresh air. I think this will become  increasingly more tempting especially as the warmer weather approaches  and my need for some Vitamin D gets stronger.I’m looking forward to spending my Wednesday afternoon lunch breaks out on the grass listening to good music.

If you live in the Howard County area and are looking for free things to do this summer, you may also be interested in CA’s Lakefront Summer Festival. During the summer months and through September, CA will be showing movies for free on Friday evenings on the lakefront. There are some great movies in the lineup this season so be sure to check them out!

4 thoughts on “Free Summer Fun!

  1. Yay, Katelyn! Great post (not that I’m biased or anything – lol).

    It’s been wonderful having you here and getting to know you. Your energy, enthusiasm and passion for service are an inspiration and you’ve really helped enhance our services and resources with your great ideas and fresh perspective. I’ve appreciated getting a glimpse into the day-t0-day functions of a Volunteer Maryland Regional Coordinator, too.

    And aren’t we lucky to have such a great location? Thanks for reminding me – it’s so easy to take it all for granted sometimes.

  2. katelynmryan

    Thanks for your kind words, Mickey! I am certainly going to miss your sense of humor. With that being said, we should take lunch some Wednesday out on the grass and request a rendition of “I will Go Down with this Ship” from the band 🙂

  3. Pingback: Rolling on a River « Volunteer Maryland

Leave a Reply

