“Oh! The Places You’ll Go!”

I’m not sure if by writing this I am going against the best practices of blogging but I am going to risk being deemed a renegade and also talk about our trip to Eden Mill Nature Center last Friday. I just had so much fun-I knew I’d want to blog about it this week!

Honestly, the last couple of weeks have been somewhat stressful. I have been working tirelessly to finish my webinar (I’m recording it today 🙂 ) and I knew I could only go to Lori’s Region meeting at Eden Mill if I finished all of my work. Luckily, I did because I would have been super bummed out if I had missed out on this awesome day.

As Kim mentioned, the canoe trip was a great experience. Although, Laura and I were in the same canoe and got off to a rocky start. After struggling to figure out the whole steering and paddling situation and about five collisions later, we finally got it down. We had more laughs trying to paddle ourselves out of the bushes and get back on the right track!

The tour of the mill was really neat and the nature center served as a unique educational resource.

We enjoyed a picnic lunch and then completed our day by visiting Carole’s llamas! We each got a chance to feed, pet, and walk the llamas!

I remember driving home on Friday and just thinking “What other the job would allow me to spend my Friday canoeing down a beautiful creek, touring a nature center, enjoying an outdoor picnic, and petting and feeding llamas?”

I think it’s true that over the course of an AmeriCorps service year, you will experience so many wonderful things that you’d never expect. I think back on my two terms of service and I am so grateful for all of the opportunities I have had. It reminds me of Dr. Seuss’ book “Oh! The Places You’ll Go!” 🙂

Leave a Reply

