Tada!

So, as most your probably already know at this point, I have been working on creating a webinar for quite a few months now. I initially got started on this project because I was interested in finding out what other options AmeriCorps alums have with regard to using their Education Award.

My first award went almost entirely towards helping to pay off my undergraduate student loans. Although it felt good to put even just a tiny dent in my loan balance, I knew that I wanted to use my next Award for something more personally meaningful.

So my research began. It was a long and tedious process but my goal was to try and get as much information as possible so as to make the process easier for interested alums in the future.

The webinar is almost ten minutes in length and discusses a variety of other options AmeriCorps alums have besides the traditional use of paying off student loans or paying for undergraduate or graduate studies.

One thing that I neglected to mention in the presentation is that it is possible to volunteer abroad. However, to date I have been unsuccessful in finding a volunteer abroad program that has a partnership with a school that will provide credit for the experience. However, I did come across a few programs that were hoping to offer a for-credit volunteer abroad experience in the near future.

I hope you all enjoy the presentation and find it relevant and useful. If you have any questions at all about anything, please feel free to comment on this blog post or email me at kryan@volunteermaryland.org.

P.S A major THANK YOU goes out to Michael for helping me post the webinar video in this blog!

Leave a Reply

