‘Extreme Makeover: Home Edition’ Comes to Baltimore!

Yesterday, I had the privilege of volunteering at the Extreme Makeover: Home Edition build in Baltimore city. The beneficiary of the build is the Girls Hope scholar program of the Boys Hope Girls Hope local affiliate. This organization is truly noteworthy and I’m happy to see that the girls will now have a safe and productive place to call home, too.

At present, Boys Hope Girls Hope offers a sense of refuge to its male scholars by providing them with a group home through their residential scholar program. The boys have access to a quality education, live in a safe environment, receive constant support and motivation and are encouraged to achieve their dreams. They are also financially supported through college.

All is true for the girls in the program with the exception of a safe place to call home. Now, that’s where Extreme Makeover: Home Edition comes in!

As I write this blog entry, men and women are just now finishing their 12:00 AM to 6:00 AM volunteer shift. Yes, that’s right—Volunteers work around the clock for seven days to complete the home on time. Unfortunately, due to the considerable amount of rain we received on Monday afternoon, it is possible that the revealing of the home will occur a day or so later than they had originally anticipated. I wouldn’t be surprised if they are able to pull it off though as there are countless volunteers on site working extremely hard to keep everything on schedule despite mother nature’s lack of cooperation.

I volunteered for the 12:00 PM to 6:00 PM shift. From the beginning I knew this was going to be an amazing day. The gentleman, Marty who sat next to me on the bus ride over, and I engaged in a conversation about how we learned about this volunteer opportunity and why we were here. He told me about his construction business, which he’s owned for 30 years, and how more recently he’s spent a substantial amount of time volunteering his time, money and skills to aid in the re-construction effort in Haiti. Hilarious, to know that after working on site for a few hours, who do I see but Marty running the whole construction effort in the front of the house.

I was inspired by others that I met as well including the construction worker that took a week off work, no pay, to volunteer. Him and I were cutting plywood and I must have told him a half-dozen times to go home and sleep-he’d been working since 8:00 PM the night before and it was 3:00 in the afternoon!

The energy at the build was incredible. There were volunteers young and old, female and male, skilled and unskilled, local and non-local, all working together to help this well-deserving nonprofit.

I have to say, for as much of a pop-culture junkie as I am I had no idea who Jillian Harris was. She apparently was “The Bachelorette” on ABC’s The Bachelorette ( which if you know me, you know I love!) Season 5 ( I was living in the woods in Texas). She was on “the set” off and on throughout the day, being filmed doing a variety of different things.

I remained oblivious all day it seemed. At one point while I was taking a break, about 6 women ran up to this man and started screaming “Pauly!”. I sat there, quietly eating my snow cone and wondering what all the fuss was about. Apparently, he’s one of the designers. Forgive me, the only person I remember from the show is Ty and he wasn’t there 😦

I left the build yesterday feeling really inspired, really happy and really muddy. It was a fantastic day!

*If you are interested in volunteering, they are in desperate need of skilled volunteers. The volunteer check-in is located at 5830 Hillen Road in Baltimore and they are shuttling volunteers to the site throughout the day.

3 thoughts on “‘Extreme Makeover: Home Edition’ Comes to Baltimore!

  1. Wow now thats perspective! I think we often react in agreement or disagreement because of our emotions, but hearing another side, passionately presented, really makes us think!

    1. Katelyn

      Hi Andrei,

      Thank you so much for commenting!

      It was truly a once in a lifetime experience and I feel very fortunate to have had the opportunity to help out and support such a wonderful nonprofit organization.

  2. Pingback: Six Months of Stories! « Volunteer Maryland

Leave a Reply

