Dolla’ Dolla’ Bills, Y’all

I only vaguely remember the first time I filed taxes.  I remember it was confusing.  And I remember being happy that I didn’t owe anything and that I would be getting a little bit of money back (I hadn’t made much that year, so the return was pretty minimal).  I’ve filed taxes a few more times since then and somehow, it’s become even more confusing.  I’ve had to figure out if I should file as a dependent of my parents or not, whether to itemize deductions or take the standard deduction, and so on and so forth.  Luckily, I still don’t make all that much so I’m still getting money back.

Into the confusing world of taxes comes Baltimore CASH Campaign, one of VM’s partners this year.  The VMC there has spent most of her time so far recruiting volunteers to do tax prep at CASH’s partner sites across Baltimore.  These tax wizards have been helping people prepare their taxes (for free!) since January and have a pretty good record of getting the maximum refund.  But that’s not the only thing that Baltimore CASH Campaign does.  With a goal of lifting families out of poverty and providing working families with the tools they need to maximize their earning potential, the Campaign works with financial institutions and community organizations to provide asset building resources to their clients.

This weekend, the Campaign is hosting a financial fitness fair which will bring all of their services together in one place as well as pull in services from other partners, all with the goal of improving your financial wellbeing.  Money Power Day will take place tomorrow (Saturday, April 2, 2011) at Poly-Western High School from 9:00 am to 3:00 pm.  If you haven’t filed your taxes yet, are looking at higher education and need to learn about student aid, or are starting a small business (among other things), this would be a great event to attend!  Check out their website for more details!

4 thoughts on “Dolla’ Dolla’ Bills, Y’all

Leave a Reply

