The Road Goes Ever On

It’s hard to believe that this is my last post for the Volunteer Maryland blog.  This year has flown by, and the past few months especially so.  I have enjoyed getting to know the Volunteer Maryland Coordinators I supported over the past year.  They are all amazing, passionate people and they all did great work at their Service Sites.  At the beginning of the year, I remember reading their applications to get to know them a little better before Pre-Service Training and actually being a little bit intimidated by some of them, by how much they had done in college and in life, by how many great initiatives they had started and how passionate they were about the causes they wanted to serve.  Over the course of the year, I got to know them a little better and see the people behind the passion.  I will miss checking in with them each week and hearing about the wonderful things they’ve accomplished.

I have definitely grown over the past two years serving with Volunteer Maryland as an AmeriCorps member.  I am a naturally quiet person, but I’ve grown much more comfortable with public speaking and group leadership.  I’ve learned more about how to counsel and guide members through tough times at their sites and how to mediate potential conflicts between members and their supervisors.  I would not have been able to grow so much without the support of the Volunteer Maryland staff.  They have been there with support and words of wisdom when I didn’t know how to handle a situation and friendship and laughter when there was nothing else to do but laugh and move on.  It has been wonderful working with people who are truly passionate about service, who love what they do, and who used their years of experience to guide me throughout the year.

I don’t know where I’m going from here, but I know I want to continue to be involved in service.  I want to find a job where I will constantly be learning, supporting others, and working with people who are passionate about what they do.  And despite the fact that I will no longer be serving with Volunteer Maryland, I know that the work they do will continue to make a huge impact on communities across Maryland.  There will be many more classes of Volunteer Maryland Coordinators (and their Regional Coordinators) who are passionate about service, about making a difference, and driven to achieve those goals.  Though I’ll be gone from VM in just a few days, the legacy of service will continue to grow and the road to better, stronger communities across the state (and country and world) will continue to go on.  Best of luck in all your future endeavors, VM Class 23, and best of luck Volunteer Maryland, I will continue to read the blog to see where you go and what you achieve.

Leave a Reply

