Second Time’s a Charm

Well it’s official, my second year with Volunteer Maryland and AmeriCorps has begun!  Similar to the new Volunteer Maryland Coordinators (VMCs) in VM24, I, too, am bubbling with optimism and a bit of anxiety about what to expect between now and the end of my service year.  I had the pleasure of being a VMC last year, and this year I am delighted to bring that experience into my new role as a Peer Leader.

As a VMC, I spent a year recruiting and supervising volunteers as docents (tour guides), program assistants, front desk aides, and library assistants for the Banneker-Douglass Museum.  In addition to that, I created and revised various written materials to orient and train new volunteers, as well as document their hours of service.  The highlight of my service year was organizing “Garment of Destiny: A Day of Remembrance and Service” for Martin Luther King, Jr. Day.  The event brought in 33 new volunteers, and gave me the opportunity to blend my passion for history with my commitment to volunteerism.  Being a VMC gave me the opportunities to stretch myself as a professional, engage community members, and be creative in the process.  What more could I ask for?  When the opportunity came to join Volunteer Maryland for another year, it was a no brainer…yes please!

My involvement in the community is a civic responsibility I enjoy.  Being a (proud) military brat has made the world my community, so I am motivated to eradicate social issues in the United States, as well as around the globe.  Through my participation in service projects, I have learned that we have the ability to make positive change, if we allow ourselves to do so.  My role as a Peer Leader allows me to continue serving while being a resource for the VMCs to do the same.

This year is off to a fantastic start and I couldn’t ask for a better team to be a part of. I already know that this is going to be an unforgettable time in my life. Stay tuned!

Leave a Reply

