Mock on, March on!

In my last post, I wrote about us denting the universe with service.  Well, like thousands of other people, I spent Martin Luther King, Jr. Day “on” rather than “off.”  I woke up at 6:00am, did my usual snow-angel stretch, got dressed like any other work day, and was out the door by 7:30am.  I was looking forward to the crisp morning and participating in the first mock freedom march in Caroline County.

Students, educators, and community members arrived bright and early to march from the Caroline County Courthouse to the Parks and Recreation center. The purpose of this event was to remember what Martin Luther King, Jr. (and many others) started in the mid 1950s for global and domestic civil rights, and to also educate younger generations about this important part of American history.  Although I could not feel my toes, I enjoyed holding the hand of an eight year old girl and answering her questions about who Martin Luther King, Jr. was and why we were marching…specifically in the cold.  Nevertheless, we made it to the community center for the second part of the event.

At the community center, volunteers had set up a dozen stations for participants to visit.  Since I have a background in Black studies, I was placed in the “Reflections” room, that contained many photos of Dr. King, Rosa Parks, and history of Black voting rights (and prohibitions).  I am a history buff, which is why I jumped at the chance to volunteer for this event.  I was like a little kid in candy store!  Another reason I love service, you get to work within your interests and share them with others.

What did you do for MLK Day?

Leave a Reply

