Say it Loud, I Serve and I’m Proud!

Did you know that Wednesday was Boy Scout Day?  Pretty cool, huh.  Being a Girl Scout Brownie and then Girl Scout Junior in middle school was a wonderful experience and I’m sure former Boy Scouts will say the same about their experiences.  I still remember standing in a group, holding up  three fingers, and reciting our promise that ended with, “…and live by the Girl Scout Law.”  Whenever I meet a former Girl Scout (usually another adult), we proudly recite the promise from beginning to end.  A little corny, but we don’t mind embarrassing ourselves in a supermarket or on the street because we are sharing a moment.  A moment that we understand.  Girl Scouts was years ago, and yet I find myself upholding another “promise”…the AmeriCorps pledge.

The only thing I love more than being an AmeriCorps member is meeting other AmeriCorps members!  I usually run into AmeriCorps members or alums at service type events and when we do it is “so fetch” (Mean Girls reference).  Like with Girl Scouts, we share a special moment that typically ends with us capturing the moment on camera to share with our AmeriCorps network and, yes, reciting the AmeriCorps pledge.  I will admit to sometimes mixing up a few of the lines, but that is irrelevant.  I simply enjoy saying it with someone else who shares my enthusiasm for all things AmeriCorps.

I hope that once my service year ends this July, I will continue to have that same enthusiasm because I am proud to serve.  I’m taking James Brown’s advice and saying it loud!

If you are an AmeriCorps member or alum do you randomly recite the AmeriCorps pledge?

The AmeriCorps Pledge

I will get things done for America – to make our people safer, smarter, and healthier. 

I will bring Americans together to strengthen our communities.

Face with apathy, I will take action.

Faced with conflict, I will seek common ground. 

Faced with adversity, I will persevere. 

I will carry this commitment with me this year and beyond.

I am an AmeriCorps member, and I will get things done. 

 

Leave a Reply

