Going Flat for #AmeriCorps Week

Do you know about the upcoming TOMS One Day Without Shoes campaign? Blake Mycoskie and company invite supporters to go one day without shoes, April 10, 2012. It is “the day we spread awareness of the impact a pair of shoes can have on a child’s life by taking off our own. . . Millions of children live without proper footwear, exposing them to injury and disease every day.” I love this engaging call to action and segue into telling a story! I am already crafting the one I’ll tell. 
Volunteer Maryland is crusading too. As an AmeriCorps program we are celebrating AmeriCorps Week. This year’s theme is “AmeriCorps Works.” I know “AmeriCorps Works.” Last year Volunteer Maryland Coordinators recruited 8,800 volunteers who served 65,000 community members. Those volunteers provided approximately 90,000 hours of service valued at $1.9 million. In honor of AmeriCorps Week, March 10 through March 18, I will be putting my shirt on, my AmeriCorps shirt that is! If you see me in my “AmeriGear” in the grocery store, at my local community center, driving a Partners in Care senior to a medical appointment, or meeting with my Volunteer Maryland peeps at Charmington’s in Charles Village , ask me how AmeriCorps Works.
Maybe you know Flat Stanley? Stanley’s dad gave him a big bulletin board which he hung on the wall over Stanley’s bed. During the night, the board fell off the wall, flattening Stanley in his sleep. He survived and Flat Stanleys have been visiting the friends and family all over the world, mailed in envelopes, for almost 50 years. He even has an iTunes app; we are in the digital age! Keep your eyes open.  Not only am I putting on my AmeriGear to celebrate AmeriCorps week, I am going flat!  When you see me, take a picture of us and post it on the Volunteer Maryland Facebook page.  Let’s see how far I can go. . .and remember to Read with the Trees on Friday, March 2.  “Unless someone like you cares a whole awful lot, nothing’s going to get better.  It’s not.”

One thought on “Going Flat for #AmeriCorps Week

  1. Pingback: Lady-like Elegance Has Made a Comeback « Volunteer Maryland

Leave a Reply

