As Promised, I’ve Gone Flat. . .

for #AmeriCorps  Week                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                         

Here is a photo documentary of one day. 

Before I went flat this morning, I drew the stars Joy and I will assemble tomorrow.   Shhhh. ..It’s a surprise!  

  On my way to the office I stopped by the Partners in Care boutique to drop off donations my father-in-law gave me last weekend.  The manager wasn’t there yet so I had to take my own flat picture at the door.                                     

 

I read my email and then it was time to head toward Charm City.  I had a regional meeting scheduled with the Baltimore Barbarians.  On the way I stopped at Michaels to pick up another roll of gold paper.   Isn’t it sparkly?    Wait until you see the final product!  Before I went in to get the paper, I stayed in the car to listen to one of my favorite new songs Alex @WRNR was playing, Little Talks, by Of Monsters and Men.

I picked Ayana up at Baltimore SquashWise and we met the rest of our gang at our usual meeting place, Charmingtons.      She was recently accepted into the Masters of Social Work program at Howard University.  And, she’s invited a friend to apply to next year’s Volunteer Maryland Coordinator class.  We are a dynamic group and our conversations are exhilarating.  Marie arrived with colorful postcard announcements she made for the upcoming Destination AmeriCorps event.  Michelle has just secured a partnership with Johns Hopkins University to ensure the sustainability of the Story Pals program at the Barclay School.   Abby reported The Read Across America event at St. Francis Neighborhood Center was great fun.  I know the “Book Nook” fort sure looked awesome!  Each of us was busily scribbling notes about resources we weren’t aware of and promising to email information i.e. neighborhood engagement, paired reading strategies, volunteer appreciation, and Boot Up Baltimore, just to name a few.  We also talked about the documentation for the mid year report that is due at the end of the month.  All of us are looking forward to the mid year retreat next week. We bid one another good bye and set off into the beautiful sunshine.  After I dropped Ayana off, I headed back to Pasadena, resisting the urge to take a picture of Flat Barb on the back of the motorcycle riding city police officer next to me on Presidents Street. 

           Remember, when you see me out and about this week, take our picture and post it on the Volunteer Maryland Facebook page.

6 thoughts on “As Promised, I’ve Gone Flat. . .

  1. Pingback: Burning Socks « Volunteer Maryland

  2. Pingback: VM Peer Leader Diaries: The Homestretch « Volunteer Maryland

  3. Basically, everywhere where there are lots of people or items that need to be
    cooled can benefit from one of the portable air conditioning units available.
    That’s where desiccant dehumidification comes into the picture. The irritants in the home that can trigger asthma are a lot; cigarette smoke, perfumes, aerosol sprays, fumes from cleaning products and paints.

  4. Pingback: Burning Socks – Volunteer Maryland

  5. Pingback: VM Peer Leader Diaries: The Homestretch – Volunteer Maryland

Leave a Reply

