Not just a job….

So, I have only been in my Peer Leader position at Volunteer Maryland for a few weeks now and already I am aware of the fact that this years Volunteer Maryland Coordinators are a special group of people. They have just completed eleven days of Pre-Service Training and I think it’s safe to say that for me it was an experience that I won’t soon forget. Within minutes of the twenty-four of them entering the training room it was clear that they had joined the Volunteer Maryland because of their passion for service. They didn’t join because someone made them do it, or told them to do it, but rather because they wanted to do it. That’s what I find so unique about programs like Volunteer Maryland and AmeriCorps; people join because they really want to make a difference, give back, and affect change in their communities, and this group of people is no exception.

Each individual I talked to who shared their connection to service and how they got to this point in their life really touched me. During training I was super peppy and hyper and I’ll let you all in on a little secret….every morning knowing that I would be going to learn and grow with them and the Volunteer Maryland Staff put an instant smile on my face and kick in my step.  There is something about being surrounded by people who not only talk about change, but actively pursue it that does something amazing and nourishing to the soul.

Not-surprisingly, this group of individuals practice a sense of service to others not only in their basic 9:00-5:00 days but also in their personal lives. In the two weeks of training alone I have come across Volunteer Maryland Coordinator’s taking part in volunteer activities at book fairs, museums and farmer’s markets to name a few. It truly is inspiring to see their passion, dedication and commitment. I cannot express how excited I am to spend this year of my life doing service with such a phenomenal group of people.

Leave a Reply

