Service Hero, I’m not talking Spiderman!

super hero

This past weekend I spent bonding time with my son. For a special treat, I took him to see “The Amazing Spiderman-2”. He is all about becoming a hero and saving the world, and I am very proud of his ambition. He then asked did I save people? I thought kind of, it’s more like serving. “So you’re like Spiderman?” he asked. The more I thought about it, in a way I am a super hero with the powers of service, motivation, and devotion. Let’s call it service hero.

Growing up I faced challenges with bullying, reading, and self-esteem. In the fourth grade I had completely given up on school and liking who I was. It was not until I was assigned a volunteer tutor, who devoted her professional and personal time to help me with reading and comprehension that my attitude changed. She encouraged me, taught me to value myself, and most importantly to smile again. When I graduated from middle school I promised her that I would share my story and expand on the foundation and principles instilled in me through her teachings of helping others. She instilled in me the concept of failure not being an option. It was because of her inspiration, encouragement, and determination to help me succeed that she became my hero.

Over the last several months I have been spending time as a parent volunteer with my son’s elementary school. During my time volunteering, I have done everything from chaperoning on field trips, helping in the classroom, and mandating cafeteria mayhem the best part of the day. I have become very active enjoy volunteering. During lunch is when I get to really interact with these amazing and talented students who refer to me the superhero mom, because to them I can do anything, little do they know they are my inspiration. I am always thankful after serving at the school. This time reconnects me to my purpose as to why I serve. When the kids see me they run up with arms wide open and smiles on their faces. This is what it’s all about. It’s the little things that make a difference in the lives of these kids. When they are sad, I provide a joke. When they get frustrated, I listen to their concerns. By volunteering, I play a role in providing a safe and nurturing learning environment.

It is through my service experiences that I have been able to inspire others, connect them to service, and have the opportunity to contribute to a better and brighter future for these students. My experience is essential! It is from the heart of knowing the need and responding to the call. I can’t fly; I don’t have laser x-ray vision, and surely don’t have a fancy cape. However, I wear my “A” with pride knowing that I can bring change.

Leave a Reply

