Debbie Franc, University of Maryland Extension Carroll County 4-H

“4-H has been part of my life since I was eight,” Debbie shares. “Growing up in 4-H, I developed many life skills and enjoyed many new adventures. 4-H even gave me the opportunity to live in Japan for a month. I loved the 4-H experience, and when I had children of my own, I looked for the best 4-H program to help them grow.”

In 2006, Debbie’s husband founded Sparks 4-H Club, which focuses on robotics. Home to a robotics team called Super Sonic Sparks, this club has participated in VEX Robotics World Championships several times and won a number of awards. Of her service with 4-H, Debbie says, “I am proud that we provide a caring environment for youth to grow. In 7 years, our robotics team has graduated 10 youth who have all gone on to college in mostly science or engineering fields.”

The Volunteer Maryland Coordinator position with University of Maryland Extension Carroll County 4-H opened up at the right time for Debbie, who observes “After being a stay-at-home mom for 21 years, volunteering was the one area I had plenty of experience with and the Carroll County 4-H position seemed like the perfect way to enter the working world. The idea of giving back to the 4-H program has motivated me to accept this challenge.”

 

One thought on “Debbie Franc, University of Maryland Extension Carroll County 4-H

  1. Pingback: One Year in Three Minutes | Volunteer Maryland

Leave a Reply

