New Beginnings

The summer of 2010 was a time of new beginnings for me. After completing two years of service with Volunteer Maryland, I was full of excitement and curiosity as I started to prepare for my role as Program Manager. I could not have been happier to continue being part of the AmeriCorps community, an experience that connected so much to my passions and values.

Now, several years later, it’s a time for new beginnings once again, as my Program Manager journey has come to an end. My love and energy for AmeriCorps still remains fiercely strong and I am so thankful for this opportunity. I’m overwhelmed with gratitude for being given the chance to be part of such an amazing program and work with such dedicated service leaders across Maryland.

Over the years, I worked with over 150 AmeriCorps members as they collaborated with nonprofit and government leaders to enhance volunteer programs. Through their service, I witnessed, time and time again, how powerful volunteerism is for the overall health of people and the environment.

I laughed (a lot), brainstormed, worked through challenges, celebrated, and volunteered with so many wonderful people in the program, and I could not be more proud of what they were able to accomplish in such a short year. It was a privilege to work so closely with each Site Supervisor and Volunteer Maryland Coordinator during this process, and I remain inspired by their service. Thank you, Volunteer Maryland alums and supervisors, for teaching me so much.

The chance to work with the extraordinary staff members at Volunteer Maryland impacted my life in such meaningful ways. Their strength, sincere dedication to volunteerism, and mentorship are just a few gifts I have had the honor of receiving. Thank you, Barbara, Maureen, Patrice, Kerry, and Lori for being such incredible leaders/guides/friends.

Volunteer Maryland will always have a special place in my life, and my support will continue for years to come. I’m excited to learn about the next class of AmeriCorps members, and even more thrilled to welcome Nicki Fiocco, VM Class 24 alumna, to the Volunteer Maryland staff as the next Program Manager! Congratulations, Nicki!

Leave a Reply

