Introductions: Unpacking a Mixed Bag

Amelia MemanHello, readers!
My name is Amelia Meman, and I am one of new Peer Leaders for VM Class 28. I’m very excited to get started with my fellow Peer Leader, Chelsea, on our AmeriCorps adventure.

Accurate portrayal of me at VM HQ.

 

I know introducing yourself through a blog post is always a mixed bag. What do I say that simultaneously enraptures my audience and provides something meaningful in our interactions? In lieu of a more philosophical reflection (which will indubitably fill this blog later) here’s a bullet point list of things that about me:

  • My name is Amelia Meman.
  • My closest friends and family call me, “Meelz,” so if I ever join a roller derby team (as I’ve always aspired to do) my derby name would be, “Meelz on Wheelz.”
  • I just graduated (May ‘15) from UMBC with a B.A. in Gender and Women’s Studies and a minor in Writing.
  • I am mixed race.
  • Yoshimi at her finest.

    I have a cat named Yoshimi, whose pictures take up an embarrassing amount of my phone’s memory. 

  • I have a passion for social justice and intersectional feminism. My ambition is to combine these political and philosophical goals with whatever I’m working on in life. Whether it be as simple as introducing myself and also stating my pronouns, or by developing an annual campus initiative centered around critical engagement with social justice issues.
  • I am a bit of a pop culture nerd. I really like celebrity gossip and knowing what’s up in the television/movie scene. I don’t really know why it’s important to me, but it is, so if you ever want to talk about movies, I’m your lady.
  • My go-to restaurant is Red Robin. For always. I am so loyal to them. Please let me take
    you to Red Robin.
  • I just bought a label maker, and I’m toying with the idea of using it to write a collection of haikus on the topic of office supplies.
  • My favorite genre of comic books are “magical girl” meets “feminism.”
  • I own a hedgehog. Her name is Penelope, and she is profoundly bitter about everything.
  • I have a really big thing for oddly specific Netflix documentaries. I recently watched one about eels, and it was enchanting.
  • When I was 7, I handcrafted a leaflet about the physical traits of cats. I think I copied information from one of several cat encyclopedias that my parents bought for me, but I like to think that second grader me was so well-versed in cat anatomy that I could casually talk about their digitigrade walking style.

I’ll end my list on the high note of my prodigious knowledge of cats. I want to leave an air of mystery about my person, so that my work will still be fresh to the blogosphere. I hope this list was as fun to read as it was to write, and I also hope you’re excited to read more about mine and my colleagues’ adventures with Volunteer Maryland Class 28!

Leave a Reply

