Kady Fulwood, Cornerstone Montgomery

1476370998328

Kady, who has a bachelor’s degree from George Washington University and a master’s degree in Management specializing in Human Resources Management from UMUC, is a native Washingtonian from military family. About herself she shares, “I have had a longstanding love for scientific innovations. This was nurtured in me by my mother and grandfather, both of which were huge Star Trek fans. To this day, I have watched all of the episodes of the original run of Star Trek and most, if not all, of the episodes of the 4 spin-offs from the original show.”

Kady will be serving as Volunteer Maryland Coordinator with Cornerstone Montgomery, a nonprofit that empowers people living with mental health and co-occurring substance use disorders to live, work, and integrate successfully within the community. About her service, Kady explains, “I want to be a factor in more people understanding that mental illness has nothing to do with the worth or value of a person. My goal for this service year is to help destigmatize mental illness by showing the greater community that mental illness, like any other illness, is something that can be managed and should not lead to isolation of those who deal with it.”

Along the way, Kady says, “I would like to strengthen my social media marketing skills, my technical writing skills and my ability to strengthen a program throughout every point in the program life cycle.”

Leave a Reply

