Abby Doyle, MakingChange

vmcheadshot-2

A graduate of St. Mary’s College of Maryland, Abby honed her leadership skills as manager of the college’s designated driving service, SafeRide. About that experience, she shares, “This job helped cultivate my professional skills while growing my love for helping a community.”

About her decision to serve, Abby explains, “I heard about Volunteer Maryland from a friend who had participated in the program the previous year. In my search for employment, I knew that I wanted to work in a collaborative environment that made a difference in my community. Serving as VMC with MakingChange seemed like the perfect fit! Although I know it will come with its set of challenges, I believe the reward of giving yourself over to a cause is worth it.”

Abby continues, “Over the course of my service year I would like to achieve several goals in my own personal growth and the growth of my community. I would like to gain a better understanding of what it is like working in a more traditional office space. I would also like to hone in on my communication skills, especially in the area of public speaking. Most importantly, I would like to expand my perspective, and the perspectives of my volunteers, on poverty in our local area.”

Leave a Reply

