Ellen Sangiamo, Shepherd’s Clinic

IMG_1648

A second-year Volunteer Maryland Coordinator at Shepherd’s Clinic and Joy Wellness Center, Ellen says, “I signed on to serve last year after having been a volunteer at the clinic for almost 2 years. I was initially drawn to volunteer when I heard Dr. Melissa DeLong speak of Shepherd’s Clinic’s mission to provide free, quality integrative healthcare to people who are unable to afford it. In addition to routine and specialty medical care, the clinic also has behavioral health providers and a wellness center that offers acupuncture, reflexology and craniosacral therapy. There are also classes in yoga, meditation, exercise and nutrition. The fact that the clinic is almost entirely volunteer-driven was the icing on the cake. I knew that I had to be a part of it.”

Ellen continues, “My first year as a VMC at Shepherd’s Clinic & Joy Wellness gave me the opportunity to become totally immersed and engaged in the cycle of volunteer program development.  I focused on recruitment, retention and volunteer appreciation. I  also had the opportunity to develop a new volunteer program, the Insurance Counseling Program.”

About her goals for a second year, Ellen explains, “This year, my focus is on sustaining the volunteer program, with all systems, policies and procedures fine-tuned and easily accessible.”

Ellen concludes by reflecting, “Now, after having served for one year I can say that I have never before felt the charge, energy, and deep satisfaction that comes from doing work that I feel passionately about alongside people who feel that same and share my optimism for effecting change. It has been a pivotal experience in my life and I look forward to the opportunity to serve for  a second year.”

 

Leave a Reply

