Darien Does Kindness Well

  1. Who are you? (Where are you from? What are your hobbies or interests? What is important to you?)
     
    My name is Darien I was raised in Laurel, MD but have lived in Clinton, MD for the past 11 years. I love playing Roleplaying Games either video games or Tabletop. What is important to me is honesty, integrity, and just being kind to others.
  2. Why did you join AmeriCorps? How did you end up on this path? 

    I didn’t so much join AmeriCorps as it was more like I stumbled into to it. I was just looking for a job close to home while being unemployed and well…here I am!
  1. What site are you serving at and why? (Where is the site? What is the community need it addresses?)

    I am serving at Community Support Systems. It addresses food insecurity in southern Prince George’s County.
  2. What are you most excited for during the next year?

    I’m most excited to meet and work with everyone at my service site.
  3. What do you hope to learn/experience in the next year?

    I hope to experience what working in an office environment is like and gain valuable experience doing so.
  4. What about community service gets you motivated?

    What motivates me is seeing a tangible difference in the work/service I do.
  5. Where does your inspiration to serve stem from? Why do you care about giving back?

    I just wanted to not work as a cog in the machine in corporate America, covid has been hard on all of us and I just want to feel good about simply being.
  6. What are your goals for this Service Year and beyond?

    A new goal is to be able to present something in front of unfamiliar people and do it flawlessly.

9. Any further comments? I just want to do a good job!

Leave a comment