Meet Kyrsis Serving at Turn Around Inc.

  1. Who are you? (Where are you from? What are your hobbies or interests? What is important to you?)

My name is Kyrsis and I’m from the beautiful island of Puerto Rico. I am very proud of my heritage and my culture; it defines a lot about who I am and the way I interact with the world. I enjoy reading and spending time with my friends, whom are more like a family to me. Thanks to my upbringing, I can proudly say that family, friends, and forming connections are extremely important to me. 

  1. Why did you join AmeriCorps? How did you end up on this path?

I joined AmeriCorps because I want to make a difference in my community and form long-lasting connections as I do so. I want to be able to give back to my community, and the people that shape it, and AmeriCorps perfectly encapsulates this.

  1. What Site are you serving at and why? (Where is the site? What is the community need it addresses?)

I am serving TurnAround, Inc. a nonprofit organization that works to serve the Baltimore community by providing services to combat human trafficking, sexual and intimate partner violence. Serving at this site will allow me to pursue the passion I developed during my time as a Women, Gender, and Sexuality Studies major. 

  1. What are you most excited for during the next year?

I am ultimately most excited to learn as much as I can! I’m very excited to have been given this opportunity and the chance to make a difference in the community.

  1. What do you hope to learn/experience in the next year?

I hope to learn how to best serve the community through my nonprofit work and to grow personally and professionally while doing so.

  1. What about community service gets you motivated?

Knowing that I’m making a difference in people’s lives, and most of all being able to see that difference, is the most important thing to me. I just want to know that the work I’m doing is actively benefiting someone’s life.

  1. Where does your inspiration to serve stem from? Why do you care about giving back?

I believe my inspiration to give back and serve comes from my family, specifically my mother and grandmother, whom have always been extremely caring and giving people. I have seen them help those around them even when they did not have much themselves, because it genuinely made them happy to do so.

  1. What are your goals for this Service Year and beyond?

I want to be able to make a difference in TurnAround, in the community around me, and in myself. This year is going to be unlike anything I’ve ever experienced and thus I’m not quite sure what to expect but I’m receiving it with my arms wide open and a lot of enthusiasm. I’m looking forward to growing with my community and my organization. 

YOUR NAMEKyrsis
YOUR SITETurnAround, Inc.
YOUR SITE WEB SITEhttp://www.turnaroundinc.org
YOUR SITE SOCIAL MEDIA (Facebook, Twitter, etc.) www.facebook.com/turnaroundinc/www.twitter.com/TurnAround_Inc
www.instagram.com/turnaround_inc/

Leave a comment

search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close