So Long, Farewell…

I can’t believe this is my final blog entry. Everything seems to be moving at the speed of light as my second term of service with AmeriCorps is inevitably coming to a close.

I honestly don’t even know where to begin but I do know that I am so grateful for my 11 months with Volunteer Maryland. I came to this position with a strong background in direct service and wanted to increase my knowledge of the nonprofit sector and develop my leadership capabilities. What I have come away with is so much more than I could have ever expected.

The staff at Volunteer Maryland really believed in our ability to produce quality work and learn by trying new things. As Regional Coordinators, we were truly welcomed and embraced as part of the Volunteer Maryland Support Team. Professional Development I think was a goal for all four of us personally, but I know for sure it was considered a priority for us by the Volunteer Maryland staff.

Over the course of my 11 months I had the opportunity to sit in on partner Site-Visits, attend outreach events on behalf of Volunteer Maryland, help with the phone screening of VM 23 applicants, create a webinar for our members on alternate uses of the Education Award, contribute to an amazing blog and much more. Earlier in the year I wrote a blog post entitled “Flood of Opportunities” and that is exactly what this year has consisted of.

I have had the chance to support and get to know not only the 9 members of my region but a class full of talented individuals. Each one of them dedicated themselves to their volunteer program and worked tirelessly to address their particular community need.  Recently, I was thinking of how much I would have liked to have been a Volunteer Maryland Coordinator. The experience one gets and the level of responsibility one takes on is really remarkable.

Lastly, perhaps the hardest thing about an AmeriCorps service year is the friends you will meet and most likely need to say goodbye to. I have developed some close friendships from my year with Volunteer Maryland and I know I’ll go through Ameri-friend withdrawal as soon as I leave for home (Boston).

What’s next? Well, for once in my life I honestly don’t know and I think I like it that way. I’m looking forward to returning home, spending time with friends and family, and discerning where I need to be and what path I’ll take next.

Thank you to Volunteer Maryland for a wonderful year and good luck to VM 22 as we all embark on new journey’s 🙂

Leave a comment

search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close