Mary and Mediation on the Shore

My name is Mary and I grew up in Baltimore, MD. I love reading, cooking, traveling, and music.

Family, friends, my cats and living an authentic, happy, and healthy life are important to me.

I joined AmeriCorps because I strongly believe in service and giving back to my community. Also, it was a great way to meet diverse people from different backgrounds that had my same value of volunteering. While working at MSCMC, I was highly encouraged to apply for the position.

Mid Shore Community Mediation Center is located in Easton, Maryland on the Eastern Shore. The organization serves Talbot, Caroline, and Dorchester counties. The need we address in the community is to prevent and respond to conflict and increase access to justice.

I am excited to learn how to develop program materials, brochures, and data bases that will help our organization be able to recruit more volunteers for our conflict resolution program.

I hope to be a more tech savvy individual that feels confident and assured when implementing policy manuals and creating fliers and brochures.

Motivations for service for me are seeing positive changes in people’s lives, and knowing I am helping a diverse and wide range of people within my community.

My Mom modeled volunteerism so I was raised at a very early age the importance of helping others. Girl Scouts gave me the civic side of service. Giving back to me is just what you do to be a person on this planet.

My goals for this Service Year are to listen, approach challenges as learning opportunities, and help our organization recruit and retain new volunteers. Long term goals are to become a stronger mediator and become an excellent Volunteer Coordinator.

Interested in hosting an AmeriCorps member at your nonprofit, government agency, or school? Visit volunteer.maryland.gov/servicesites to apply now and learn more about this opportunity.

Mary

Mid Shore Community Mediation Center

www.midshoremediation.org

Leave a comment

search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close